Can i weigh in on the teenybopper thing?

Me. late teenybopper stage, i think 2002-3

With all the discussion on teenyboppers i cannot simply stand by and see our next generation flayed to pieces. Especially by the likes of Himal, whom i actually knew when we were both teenyboppers and let me just say that he wasn’t exactly Sir. Ian McKellen then, and he isn’t now either.

But neither was i. When i was a teenager i was just as aimless and prone to do senseless things like try out various hairstyles in front of the mirror and walk around with an exaggerated swagger that fooled nobody. Me and my friends crashed batch parties of girls’ schools and did almost anything to get people’s attention. I’m sorry if you think that was stupid, it probably was but i’m glad i got a  lot of that stupid out of my system so my twenties are considerably less cringe-inducing in retrospect.

The ‘teenyboppers’ referred to by Himal are probably of a higher socio-economic class that us local school kids. They’re wealthy and opulent and can afford to go to places that we can only afford now that we’re making our own money. So they get in our faces with their aimless pandering and can’t even appreciate the fact that they can afford to buy drinks after paying for the ticket while still in school. Why these ungrateful brats i tell you.

I don’t think it makes sense to hate on them, not just them all tennyboppers in general. i got a fair share of disapproving looks and disgusted stares when i was their age. A lot of people looked at me like i was some complex math problem out of a neighboring universe and i know all you others from my generation had your fair share of similar experiences. You can deny it but you know its true.

And you know what? I didn’t really give a damn about them. How could i? I couldn’t really do anything at the point anyway because i was on a hamster wheel trying to keep up with all the sensory stimulation coming my way, and learning all the while how to act and behave in a world that increasingly got newer and more interesting. I just chose to think of everyone who looked at me askance as outdated codgers who weren’t worth my time. And that’s how these teenyboppers are looking at you now.

Inside every teenybopper there is probably a slightly insecure kid laying out a crusty armor of swagger to hold the world off until he/she can figure it out. A lot of adults don’t get them but that’s okay cause they know you see, old people were young once too but they forgot how it felt to be young and now they think they were fifty since the day they were born. Just humor them and nod and smile. When you grow old you’ll show em that some old people can still be in touch with kids and be old at the same time, remember thinking that way?

20 comments
  1. Chavie said:

    Nail. On. Head. 😀

    Brilliant.

    And: “Especially by the likes of Himal, whom i actually knew when we were both teenyboppers and let me just say that he wasn’t exactly Sir. Ian McKellen then, and he isn’t now either.” – I LOL’d. 😀

    • Whacko said:

      true story :p

  2. Tulie said:

    Great Post 🙂

    And LOL @ being looked at like a complex math problem from the neighbouring Universe.

    Yeah – I can STILL remember that look. Something along the lines of, “Where did we go wrong?” – (in producing us) or “How did God mess up so badly? This entire batch of products is off.” 😀

    • Whacko said:

      tsk tsk, and yet you hate on these poor kids

  3. Jerry said:

    Agree. But your habit of not capitalizing I’s is strangely annoying.

    • Whacko said:

      oh i’m sorry. i will make sure i try to correct my i’s in the future

  4. John said:

    Ditto on the lack of capitalization on the I. Difficult to read when you’re cringing every few seconds. And I totally agree on the insecure part. We’ve all got that nervous person inside us. I don’t think he ever goes away, he just moves on and becomes insecure somewhere else.

    Also, I’m sure that a secret club of 30 something year olds must be complaining about all these bloggers and ‘social media tweens’ writing stuff on the Internet and making their opinions known and whatnot. They must be using Yahoo groups or something to co-ordinate. .

    • Whacko said:

      haha you’re probably right. They’re probably sitting around in posh bars talking politics and career and kids. And saying how today’s twenty something just don’t understand what responsibility means. and OK seriously, do the i’s jarr the senses so much??

    • Whacko said:

      anytime u want a reality check man!

  5. Halik, had you read my post a bit more carefully, you would’ve realised that in no way, shape or form was I trying to say that we were ‘better’ than today’s teenagers.

    Heck, I went as far as to say that we were just as bad – if not worse – only, we were a bit more careful with our teenybopperness(?). And we PRETENDED we were such goody two-shoes, because, that way, everyone was happy in the end, and we stayed out of trouble. I thought I had made that abundantly clear in my post. But I guess I should’ve been a bit clearer. My bad.

    Oh, and Ian McKellen is kinda overrated. 😛

    • Whacko said:

      Oh please Himal, i read your post, cant unsay what you said!

  6. D said:

    I like. What’s with all the teenybopper posts anyway? Should anyone our age really care what ‘the kids nowadays’ are doing? 😛

      • Dili said:

        Well if that comment doesn’t show that you’ve turned into old windbag I dunno what will 😀

    • Whacko said:

      well pretty soon you’ll be running into them in your daily lives, living with em and working with em. better know whats coming eh?

  7. Suresh said:

    I now know which school you went to Whacko…

    • Whacko said:

      congratulations!

Leave a Reply

