Battmobile to the Rescue

what it should have looked like

So my car wouldn’t start. again. And this time there was no Indi, Roel, Salmaan and Viyan to push it, only a tired old security guard who though he gave his 100 percent failed to ignite my engine, bless him.

Some lazy ass who walked by suggested i call Exide battery service. he gave me the number as well, he was very helpful. Anything to avoid hard labor. Now i’m not too big on these newfangled gimmikery, a man should be able to start his own car without outside help, but i was getting late for an appointment and this was no time for old fashioned machismo.

So i called it and spoke to a lady who took down my details and promised help in ten minutes.

About an hour later a three wheeler with a tiny cab where the back seat should have been and “BATTMOBILE” in big letters written on the side rolls up. The driver gets out and tells me to open the lid. He is no nonsense, no preamble. He fixes some gauge like thing and asks me to start the motor, nothing happens. I do this again twice, he then nods. reaches into the back and pulls out this supermassive battery that looks like it used to power a Nazi armored tank before going into retirement.

He lifts it up and sets it down in one smooth motion. fixes two cruel looking pincers to the nodes of my battery, and asks me to turn the key. Black Dragon (that’s the tentative name of my Maruti Zen) fires up right away. Battman gives a satisfied smirk. Tells me i better replace my battery soon.

He makes as if to get into his awesome vehicle and move off into the night. I’m like, hold on, i haven’t paid you yet. He gives a bashful grin and says no charge mister, but you can give me something if you like. I slip him a little something and he nods in thanks. Starts up the Battmobile with a rumble and disappears into the dark. Who was that man?

I think Exide is onto something here. You spread the word only to people who are most likely to buy your product in the near future, and you develop a great relationship with nearly all of them in the process, before they even think of buying. This is what industry insiders call really cool marketing.

12 comments
  1. chathuraw said:

    You’re lucky it wasn’t Buttman 😛

    • Whacko said:

      lol yes, but for that to happen my bum would have to have broken down or something…

    • Whacko said:

      Since i decided to move up the ladder of car ownership! It’s what all the cool kids are driving

  2. keheliya said:

    Have a set of jumper cables in ur car boot. You know, there won’t be buttmobiles around every time 😉

    • Whacko said:

      good tip! thanks

  3. Chavie said:

    Hahaha, buttman! 😀

    So Aruna goes around fixing batteries these days huh? 😉 Really cool marketing. 🙂

    • Whacko said:

      lolz i will not comment on that, you obviously know him better than me :p

  4. You’re just thrilled you got a free jump start 😛 But yeah, you really should replace the battery. Not to mention getting some jumper cables so in case it happens again you can connect it to a friend’s car battery.

    • Whacko said:

      replaced it! cost me a packet, but it was due anyway 😀

    • Whacko said:

      yeah, pretty great service if you can afford to cool your heels for a while

Leave a Reply

